Team owners can decide which team members can delete and restore channels.
Tip
If you’re considering deleting a channel because you’re being inundated by notifications about new messages, you can instead just turn off notifications.
To delete a created channel and all associated conversation history, go to the channel name and click More team options
> Delete this channel.
The OneNote sections associated with a deleted channel will still show up on your team's SharePoint site.
To restore a channel that was previously deleted, along with all the conversations and content:
- Go to the team that the channel was in and select More team options
> Manage team. - Select the Channels tab at the top of the view.
- Select the 4 more filter, then select Deleted.
- Select Restore next to the channel you want to restore.
- On the confirmation screen, select Restore.
Channels can be restored within 21 days of deletion, but no new channels can be created with the same name as the deleted channel within that 21-day window.